Course Wrap up

This has been a quick month!   It’s hard to think back on all of the tools we’ve used (outside of looking at them specifically in this blog) and think about how little I knew about using technology in the classroom before the month of June!  I’ve learned so much about tools I didn’t know existed (Google Earth, Prezi and Sporcle ) and even more about those I did know existed (Polldaddy, Blabberizer and Flickr).

 

 
The question remains, how will I apply this to my classroom?  I’m in a school where 60% of the kids are on free and reduced lunch, so having kids write blogs at home, take online quizzes, and even some group projects are very difficult. Lots of these students have no means of transportation other than the school bus, so low-tech tutoring is even out of the question.

As we’ve talked about this year, a lot of money in Title 1 schools goes towards the latest and greatest gadgets (a lot of the time for the teachers), instead of basic human needs (Maslow). While I greatly appreciate my SMARTboard, I could just as easily (and much more technologically easily) project onto a dry/erase board and have the same outcome.

In a school of 1300+ students, it’s not very easy to get to the computer lab or library. With evaluations that could cost me my job, I feel like time in the library isn’t going to get me those scores. I’m not saying that teaching shouldn’t be student-oriented, just that it’s becoming more difficult to be that way. Ok, stepping down off of my soapbox now.

I like some of these tools, and think they are very useful in the right setting. I’ve created numerous lessons with a multitude these tools that fell through because about 1/3 of my students have internet access at home (and don’t get me started on homework). Maybe that’s what I’m so bitter about this whole Web 2.0 thing.

I really like the idea behind a lot of this, and think that teacher-created, instead of student-created, artifact can be used to enhance the class. Now, this doesn’t mean that I’m going to comment on my own blog posts with opposing views, rather that I can create with a lot of the Web 2.0 tools that I’ve used in college (Sporcle, Dipity, Prezi et cetera) and use them with the class to enhance learning in another way.

 

About CDillon2

Hello! My name is Chris Dillon and I am a student in TPTE 586 at the University of Tennessee. I have just completed a year long internship and will begin teaching in Knox county in August.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

